(0)
 

Product reviews for Monk's Robe and Hood

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
Halloween costume
It's black. Looks great. I wear it with a skull mask and skeletal gloves. Scares the hell out of the rugrats on Halloween.
David | December 21, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The real deal
I am very impressed with the quality. Hand made out of cotton I believe, not nylon or polyester like the the fake stuff you find in a costume store. I ordered the standard size and if fits me (5’8”, 180 lbs) loosely as a monk’s robe should. It’s warm, not too hot. I suspect the only thing keeping this from being 100% real is I doubt monks wore dry clean only habits.
Joseph | October 07, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
At 350lbs and 5'10" I was very worried that I wouldn't fit this robe.  I called and customer service assured me with the exact dimensions. Very friendly customer service.  I'm glad I took a chance because it fits great.  Not a whole lot of room left over at the chest and shoulders but enough that it is comfortable.  I have about a 59" chest btw.  I'm very impressed with the quality of the material, it's warm but not too much.  It is a little tall but at 5'10" I was expecting that, I'm thinking a good rope belt will help that and I won't have to modify.  To any big folks out there who might hesitate like I did, it is definitly a good buy.  I'd also like to mention that I got the black robe and it looks a lot nicer than in the picture.  The picture makes the color look dull and faded but it's not.  It's a nice deep tone of black.
Fernando | September 29, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The right size, right fit and great fabric choice. I'm 6'1" and this goes just enough to so I'm not rubbing on ground or walking on it and still keeping my feet hidden. It fits perfectly around the neck and shoulders. I like the bit of weight it holds. Not too heavy to wear for long periods and heavy enough that I don't worry about it wearing thin quickly. I've been very comfortable in it. I'm very impressed.
Adam | September 26, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
An excellent buy. I agree that the belt leaves much to be desired, and I'd rather a button than a wire clasp at the back of the neck. However, the robe itself is heavy-duty, comfortable, and as roomy as a tent. Also very long - I'm 5'11-ish and needed the belt to hike the hem off the ground. Wearing a belt helps reduce the weight like a rucksack, letting it settle around the hips rather than hang from the shoulders. Also very warm w/o becoming oppressive. The whole ensemble is so comfy that I've actually worn it in the apartment on long weekends. (Naturally, that was the one time some delivery blokes knocked on the door looking for another address. Being decked out in full monkish regalia, I didn't have time to ditch the habit, so answered the door as I was. No explanation was asked for; none given.)
Max | December 26, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I have had my eye on this product for several years but, due to my size and no clear reviews stating whether or not it would fit, was hesitant to purchase. I am 6'5" and 240 lbs. Finally broke down and ordered and I am SO HAPPY with my choice. It fits like a dream. It practically comes to the floor, so that I have to be a little careful when walking up stairs so I don't trip. It looks amazing and the quality is top notch. I ordered in black and must say I look totally bad ass in this thing. Look out, Renn Fest!
Mike | August 25, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I was a bit worried upon hearing from others who bougt this about how big the robe would be. I'm a 5'3" woman and Ithought I would need to get it hemmed. The length ended up being perfect! I used it to create a Radagast costume for The Hobbit triple feature at my local movie theater. Needless to say it was a huge hit. I got many wonderful compliments. It is very comfortable and lighter than it looks. I highly recommend this robe and this company. This is my 6th clothing item I have ordered from them and, as always, the item surpassed my expectations!! Thank you again Museum Replicas!!
Christine | December 16, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
good item for good price
amber | September 26, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Ample room and generous cut. I am 6', 280 and have plenty of robe leftover, though the waist cord is a bit of a joke. If you're looking for authenticity, you're better served dropping 30 bucks on a real cincture from a clergy supply store.
Troy | December 17, 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I ordered this for part of a Halloween costume. I was afraid about the size and I was right, three of me could have fit in it and I would need high high heels to make the length fit right, so serious alterations were in order:

Quality: 5
Construction: 5
Size: 3 (unless you are really tall and really round)
Durability: 5
Look: 5
Charles | October 21, 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This robe is even nicer in person!  The fabric is appropriately heavy and looks a lot like wool (thank God, it isn't).  I got a black one and it will work for a variety of roles:  Monk, druid, wizard, etc.  The hood is even usable separately as peasant/serf garb.  The "waist cord" is o.k. but I'll be using a thick, heavy length of rope when dressed as a monk and I have a great 3" wide belt for other times.  When I ordered they only had the "one size fits most" and I was a little leery, but everything fits fine.  MR's customer service advised chest is about 60" and length is about 61".  Like several other customers, I am a pretty stout guy:  A little under 6', 260 lbs, 18.5" neck, 52" chest with very broad shoulders, 44" waist and 24" (7 3/4) head.  This robe is still is big on me.  I just need to hem the sleeves and bottom and I'll be ready!  My only minor complaint is the neck clasp being a little on the light side.
Jim | August 21, 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is perfect for Halloween, or when you have to do that last-minute inquisition. As others have said, the XXL is quite long when you are 6 feet, but nothing that can't be fixed.
Lars | October 16, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Received mine today. It is perfect and made from a very nice fabric. I am 180cm  (6 feet) with a medium-large build. I had ordered te XXL version, it is a little bit long for my size, especially the arms. But If you want to have a cool long robe which partially sweeps the floor, still you might prefer this size.
Mehmet Celaleddin | September 21, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
perfect!!!!  Works well in 80 deg heat.  Just dont wear to much under it when it is that hot.
James | May 15, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I bought mine in black to as part of a Halloween costume and found that it is awesome for a number of occasions beyond what I bought it for. They say one size fits all, well this may be true. I found my fit much better after I had it tailored to my height and size.  
Justice | January 18, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is a great robe, I would recommend it to anyone who wishes to use it in dry conditions. Also it keeps you quite warm in cold climates. For me the only thing I find annoying is the hood, which doesn't keep wide across my face, it touches my eyes, but that may be just to do with the shape of my head.
Joshua | September 18, 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
as promised just had to hem it a little thanx and fast shipping would recoment to freinds and buy from again.
Rev Walter | July 24, 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Wow, the ONE thing that MR makes that fits me (and more)!!! I got the 2XL with some trepidation because I usually wear 3-4XL shirts - NOT TO WORRY! I'm 6'1", 300+ lbs and this thing is voluminous. Even with my massive shoulders, massive chest, and massive gut, this thing went right down to the ground. It is the perfect length cuz when I step, it "just" rides up over my foot so I don't walk on the hem. The material has a rough almost burlap texture but the inside is smooth and comfortable. The sleeves are long and cover the hands so it looks very...monkly and kinda mysterious. The only problem that wasn't a problem were the arm holes...they looked too small but when I put the robes on (over a heavy shirt) the robe fit fine with plenty of room for movement. The hood is very cool, it fits my giant grape perfectly and the back part is long and deep. I only had two problems with this robe, the first is the cheesy sash...it's made out of a heavy duty twill material and is very long but isn't really religious or anything; I think it was kind of an afterthought. The other problem was the hook at the throat. It's a modern metal wire hook and loop clasp assembly; very cheesy and soon to be replaced...I just have to figure out if I want to use a lacing system or some kinda toggle thing. But, overall, I'm phenomenally happy with this thing!!! IT FITS!!! w00t!!!
Kurt | May 03, 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great buy! The brown looks just like the picture!
Joseph | February 25, 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Before I received my Robe I truly did not know what to expect, however upon receiving it I was down right impressed at the craftsmanship that went in to making it.  The Robe are by far the best quality Robes on the market.  (And believe me I’ve been looking for good one for a long time.)  To sum it up, if you are looking for authentic and beautiful Robe of great quality.  Look no further just go and add to cart and check out.  Great Job M.R.’s.
Joshua | November 09, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
We have used these Robes since 2002 in our religious order The Order of Saint Thomas, and they stand up to all the abuse our Friars and misiionaries put them through. They pass our feild test even Chicago to DR Congo. We dont want to use anything else.

Br.Dave,OST
http://Social.LCOCCI.ORG
Abp. DDL | October 02, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I bought two of these robes in black for ritual use, and I am absolutely pleased with them. They are hand woven, a detail that I think should be included in the description. They are warm, sturdy and perfect for those of us who hold rituals out of doors. A nice coat of Scotch-guard and you have a wonderful robe for any conditions. I highly recommend these beautiful hand woven robes. Blessed be.
Collins | April 30, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I just received the Monk's Robe in the mail today. I ordered brown, because of
my interest in Saint Francis. This is
a very comfortable piece to wear, even
though the fabric is heavy, and rough.
I indeed will replace the belt for a
Franciscan style one later on. A very
nice, well made habit. Try tying the
belt in three knots on each side, like
the Franciscan order Friars do, until you can get a better sash. The belt is
the only thing that is not Franciscan.
Not a big problem, for the rest of the
look or apprearance is great! If you
want a nice habit, or something nice &
warm but different, then this is the
right item for you. Thanks you very much M.R. II/VIII/MMX Anno Domini
Timothy | February 12, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I purchased one a year ago. I found it to be an excellent product and a lot of fun. They do need to offer a separate sash cord or belt of higher quality.
Wayne | August 31, 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Excellent item.  It runs quite large and will need to be shortened, but a very good value.
Annette | April 07, 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Where quality for price is concerned, this is a good deal - and was especially good during your recent sale.  
Calvin | January 13, 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Well made out from a nice heavy fabric.
Anders | December 15, 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Robert | December 06, 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)