(0)
 

Product reviews for Stiklestad Viking Sword

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
A classic!
This is a very nice version of a classic sword.  Light and easily wielded with one hand.  Balance is a bit forward, but provides the force needed for a slashing blow, as was intended.  Builds up strong wrists.  The detailing on the pommel is a nice touch.  I got the sharpening, and it is worth every penny.  Sliced straight through both sides of the box with barely more effort than the weight of the sword itself.  Very reasonably priced for the quality.
Michael | August 02, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Viking Sword
Great sword. As MR offers a wide variety of quality Viking swords, it was tough to chose which one to buy. Didn’t go wrong as I’m extremely happy with my purchase. Thinking already to but another one of the other Viking swords because this one it so nice. As always, had this sword sharpened. Well balanced when using. Great add to my collection.
Steven | May 24, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
By chance
Was not sure about this one at first, but took a chance on it during the deal of the day. After handling it I do not regret it. The sword is well put together and lively in the hand. It also fits well in the scabard. What's not to like.
Dan | January 23, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Nice sword
Nice reporduction sword. Fit and finish are tight and the blade is sharp. Very happy with it.
Enrico | January 15, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Ready for Vallhalla
I've always wanted a real sword and after reading the review of the Stiklestad Viking Sword on Sword Buyers Guide (https://www.sword-buyers-guide.com/sticklestad-sword.html) I knew I had to have this one. I couldn't be happier! I'll be taking this with me to the afterlife. Thor be praised!
Clay | January 04, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Sword
Beautifully detailed sword, nice weight, balance and feel in the hand.  Sharpening was fine for me, not sure if they've upgraded their process since the others have had issues.  Definitely recommend!
Ian | October 12, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Stiklestad Viking Sword
I got this sword as a gift for my husband, who not only LOVES swords, knives, and weapons in general, he also loves the show Vikings and is proud to have Rollo as a (distant) ancestor.
I ha it sharpened and it is beautifully sharp!
As always, MR handled everything professionally. I'll be buying from them again soon!
Lydia | August 20, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I just got mine from the deal of the day. It's a well put together sword but the gap between the blade and the guard is a little to big. Little better sharpening job then most places.
joshua | June 03, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I just got this sword as part of a deal of the day. I must say, I am in love with this sword. It handles excellently, and looks awesome. Unfortunately the sharpening service was largely a waste of money. You will cut yourself if you run your finger along the edge, but otherwise it is quite blunt. The sword fails the paper cutting test and cannot cut water bottles. My only other gripe is that the scabbard, while nice, is a bit too tight fitting. I feel it will blunt the blade when I get the sharpening touched up. Five star sword, just don't bother with the sharpening service.
Erik | February 23, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Outstanding! M.R.L. provides excellent service across the board. The Stiklestad sword is a welcomed addition to my collection.
Christopher | September 06, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is a cut above all other swords sold by MRL. Fit and finish on this sword is most excellent. Very good steel. Balance is superb. The scabbard is also better than others I have received and it fits the blade well. The hardware items on the scabbard are beautiful. I have complained about quality control on some swords I have purchased from MRL. This purchase restores my faith in MRL. Thanks for a GREAT STIKLESTAD VIKING SWORD !!!!!!
Gerald | August 01, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Sword is beautiful and cuts like a beast, only downside is that the scabbard is a bit loose, a common problem with windlass swords in general
Nicholas | July 21, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I prefer swords a bit heavier than this. The Stiklestad is close to 2 lbs, and I believe edged weapons of this length should weigh at least a pound more due to it being easier to slice through cloth, flesh and bone. However, I still gave this sword a high rating because of its' excellent balance and the attention given to the detailing of both sword and scabbard. And, speaking of the scabbard, this one is superior to what you usually see on an under $350 beater, and certainly better than the usual Windlass product. It fits on the blade rather loosely, but the presence of small metal tags on both sides make it easy to secure the blade in place with leather loops. For the money, this is a beater you can't beat!
Terry | December 15, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great sword. Handles well and looks great. Well made, recommended.
Matthew | November 14, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Surprisingly light and quick. The hilt is beautiful.Pictures don't do it justice.
charles | July 31, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This sword is everything I expected from Museum Replicas.  It feels great in my hand and looks fantastic!  This is going to make an excellent addition to my collection.
Ray | July 20, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Absolutely awesome sword!  Any viking would be proud!!
Sam | July 20, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The Stiklestad sword was my fifth blade purchase from Windlass Steel/Museum Replicas, and as others have noted, it's by far the very best of the lot.  I also own a Coustille sword, Russian Kindjal, a Seax, a Jambiya, the Officer's Kukri, and my most recent "Deal of the Day" purchase, a Brandenburg rapier. Every blade is sharp as the proverbial razor's edge, and a superb piece of biting steel. Next on the list is the Medici dagger and the British basket hilt sword.  Without a doubt Windlass Steel/Museum Replicas rocks!
Allen | July 10, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Good balance and very well made and when they say sharpened, they mean sharp! Makes me want to raid the English coast just holding it in my hands.
Lawrence | May 13, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Fit for a King!  I received this as a graduation gift, and it made 4 years of college worth it!
John | February 23, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
jim | October 11, 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This was the first sword that I bought from Museum Replicas, and I must say I was not disappointed. The sword is very well constructed and beatiful. I bought the optional sharpening service which was worth the extra cost because the sword came out of the box razor sharp. If all of Museum Replicas weapons are like this one I highly recommend buying any of their weapons.
AJ | January 20, 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)