COVID-19 Update: We are open for business and are taking orders and shipping as normal. We may experience some shipping delays due to carrier issues and disruption of our supply chains. Our showroom is closed until further notice.

Product reviews for Stiklestad Viking Sword

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Existing reviews
Beautiful Viking Sword
Beautiful Viking sword. Well balanced and well made scabbard. An excellent addition to my sword collection. Looks great on my wall. Highly recommend.
HOWARD | September 21, 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Beautiful and Effective
The most beautiful sword in my small collection; which detracts not at all from its deadly effectiveness.  Light and fast, wicked sharp (secondary bevel by MR) and with a lovely balance that feels like a natural extension of my hand. Backyard chopping of gallon jugs and light dowels has been a delight, and I cannot wait to show this off on my waist at the next AZ Renaissance Festival.
Shannon | August 19, 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Good looking and functional
This is a sturdy, functional, and attractive sword.  The handle material feels like suede.  I'm not sure if that's a historical choice, but it feels good in hand.  I would be more concerned with its long-term durability and sweat-resistance, but mine is more of a wall-hangar.  

The handle is a bit longer and roomier than most Viking swords, but it's still small enough to properly anchor the heel of my hand against the pommel.  The lines in the guard are sharply executed and look good - they've been inlayed with brass or some similar metal.  The fullers are fairly well-executed, with only very slight and not noticeable wandering, and the polish is very good.  The fuller doesn't quite terminate properly, though, and the tip isn't spatulated like real Viking swords.  However, it's very functional, with a sharp edge (I had mine sharpened) and a solid, fairly inflexible blade.

Overall, the piece is a good representation of a modern interpretation of Viking weapons.
Michael | July 26, 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
My first Viking sword
The Stiklestad is my first Viking sword and I chose well from the feel of it to the lightness of swinging it around, this Viking sword is good to have, I love the hide wrapped handle gives it that authentic feel another I highly recommend
Jonathan | June 15, 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
If you are limited to one
I wanted a fine example of a Viking period sword and eventually decided on this one. Besides the history of the piece it has several features that truly stand out. The grip, pommel style and copper inlay are very distinctive. It was a toss up between this and the Damascus but my budget intervened. Also, I found the sword of the Viking king to be a bit over the top for my tastes. I think a sword of that fineness would make you a target.
Frank | April 15, 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A classic!
This is a very nice version of a classic sword.  Light and easily wielded with one hand.  Balance is a bit forward, but provides the force needed for a slashing blow, as was intended.  Builds up strong wrists.  The detailing on the pommel is a nice touch.  I got the sharpening, and it is worth every penny.  Sliced straight through both sides of the box with barely more effort than the weight of the sword itself.  Very reasonably priced for the quality.
Michael | August 02, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Viking Sword
Great sword. As MR offers a wide variety of quality Viking swords, it was tough to chose which one to buy. Didn’t go wrong as I’m extremely happy with my purchase. Thinking already to but another one of the other Viking swords because this one it so nice. As always, had this sword sharpened. Well balanced when using. Great add to my collection.
Steven | May 24, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
By chance
Was not sure about this one at first, but took a chance on it during the deal of the day. After handling it I do not regret it. The sword is well put together and lively in the hand. It also fits well in the scabard. What's not to like.
Dan | January 23, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Nice sword
Nice reporduction sword. Fit and finish are tight and the blade is sharp. Very happy with it.
Enrico | January 15, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Ready for Vallhalla
I've always wanted a real sword and after reading the review of the Stiklestad Viking Sword on Sword Buyers Guide (https://www.sword-buyers-guide.com/sticklestad-sword.html) I knew I had to have this one. I couldn't be happier! I'll be taking this with me to the afterlife. Thor be praised!
Clay | January 04, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Sword
Beautifully detailed sword, nice weight, balance and feel in the hand.  Sharpening was fine for me, not sure if they've upgraded their process since the others have had issues.  Definitely recommend!
Ian | October 12, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Stiklestad Viking Sword
I got this sword as a gift for my husband, who not only LOVES swords, knives, and weapons in general, he also loves the show Vikings and is proud to have Rollo as a (distant) ancestor.
I ha it sharpened and it is beautifully sharp!
As always, MR handled everything professionally. I'll be buying from them again soon!
Lydia | August 20, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I just got mine from the deal of the day. It's a well put together sword but the gap between the blade and the guard is a little to big. Little better sharpening job then most places.
Joshua | June 03, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I just got this sword as part of a deal of the day. I must say, I am in love with this sword. It handles excellently, and looks awesome. Unfortunately the sharpening service was largely a waste of money. You will cut yourself if you run your finger along the edge, but otherwise it is quite blunt. The sword fails the paper cutting test and cannot cut water bottles. My only other gripe is that the scabbard, while nice, is a bit too tight fitting. I feel it will blunt the blade when I get the sharpening touched up. Five star sword, just don't bother with the sharpening service.
Erik | February 23, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Outstanding! M.R.L. provides excellent service across the board. The Stiklestad sword is a welcomed addition to my collection.
Christopher | September 06, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)