(0)
 

Product reviews for Scimitar

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
Kahlil
I was so enthralled to receive this in the mail.
It was shipped promptly and expeditiously. I was not disappointed, the sharpness is great as well as the overall craftsmanship. The wood on the handle was excellent. The guard also was crafted wonderfully.

However, what really caught me was the blade flexiblity which is indicative of a good heat treating process.

Besides this the weapon handles wonderfully, with the right amount of weight distribution.
Kahlil | April 01, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Worth the money
The blade is well shaped and durable, well balanced and the scabbard fits well, hilt is fine, odd finish on the cross guard though. But, has not come loose for me, I've heard that was a issue for some.
Francis | January 17, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A Very Good Offering
The Scimitar is one of the best swords that I have handled from Windlass. It has a beautifully curved and finished blade with amazing cutting power. The blade is very solid and can handle some abusive cutting though I obviously do not recommend it.Whilst the blade is very effective, the handle does leave a little to be desired. It does have a small grip, so those with larger hands may find it too uncomfortable. It also has a terrible looking lacquer finish that really distracts from the sword. Underneath said lacquer is a brass guard, which while not ideal, does work well enough, though it may bend out of shape with impact.
Whilst the handle has a couple of flaws, there is no mistaking that this sword is worth the price point.
Victor | September 18, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is a beautiful weapon.  It is light in the hand, unlike some other replicas.  The cross and scabbard fittings seem to have an unusual finish, and almost feel like they are of some material that is not steel, but a magnet reveals that there is at least some iron content. The scabbard seems overly large, but it accommodates the curve of the blade perfectly.  The grip is a bit short and small for my hand, but that is only a minor flaw.
Steven | December 25, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Surprisingly nice.  Handle is a bit small for the hands but its lightning fast.  I like this sword very much.  Product lost a star because "Made by Windlass" is laser etched onto the blade.  It seems only some swords are coming this way.  Must be from a certain forge.  And no its not the normal ink stuff that comes off with a dime.  This is definitely laser etched.  Kills the authenticity factor of the blade.  
Raffaele | December 24, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I love this thing. It is beautiful! Light and useable at the same time !
mark | August 21, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I saw all of the '5 star' reviews and felt obligated to offer a dissenting opinion.

Firstly, the handle is ridiculously tiny in both length and thickness, and barely fit within my, what I consider to be average sized hand.

Secondly, four days after receiving this sword, I dropped it on the DIRT; not on the cement or concrete or a wood floor, but just regular old dirt, and the handle exploded at the bulb, and on one side...

It probably just fell at the worst possible angle, but it was really quite shocking. The only reason I give this a 2, is because the blade itself is very sturdy and durable, and still holds up with it's now 100% duct tape handle...
Daniel | July 25, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
An absolutely outstanding weapon; great balance for the type and frightenly quick; this scimitar is dangerous when sharpened and it can deliver ferocious draw cuts. It is one of your absolutely best offerings. The grip and quillions appear to be closely derived from a weapon captured by Capt.Decatur (USN)in the Tripoli pirate suppressions. If I'm not mistaken, he carried the weapon regularly for the rest of his Naval career. Joe Brown.
Judge Joe | December 27, 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)