Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Existing reviews
One drawback I can see to an otherwise great sword is that the +ULFBERHT+ spelling of the inlay on historical blades has been found to correlate with lower quality steel blades than the true high carbon, low impurity steel of the blades of real Ulfberhts, which have all been marked +ULFBERH+T. It's hypothesized they were forgeries of lower quality trying to pass themselves off as the top of the line blades, in the same way as many modern knockoffs misspell the brand name.
Nathanael | December 05, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
This is a fine quality sword, nice looking and very pratical. I would not hesitate to buy again. I tested it against tree limbs, mats, and brush. It held up perfectly and held a fine edge.
Ronnie | December 22, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I just received this sword. as usual it is very well made and well balanced. Thank you

KJK US Army Colonel (Ret)
LTC Kenyon | December 31, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
If you are hoping for this sword to be 100% historically correct then you will be disappointed but if you hoping for this sword to be well made, then you are in for a treat. The balance is great. The grip, guard and pommel are well put together. As far as the quality of the sword goes, this is a great sword. If you aren't picky about historical accuracy, then this is the sword you will want in your collection. Great sword.
David | February 07, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
It's a slight bit on the heavy side and the crossguard is a bit chunky, but overall I really like this sword. It feels really good in the hand and I like the balance. Where it is having problems is the "+ulfberht+" etching. After just a couple of weeks the part of the etching by the crossguard is starting to rub off from the scabbard. Otherwise, this would easily be a 4-star sword. I will avoid using the scabbard in the future.

The people kvetching about the spelling of "+ulfberht+" are getting bad info from an otherwise pretty good TV documentary. The important feature was the quality of the steel, not the spelling that the illiterate smith used. There are multiple spelling variations and reverse marks for "true" ulfberht swords. The oldest existing genuine example we have is misspelled "+ulfbeht+". For the price, this sword is a good replica of the original, judging by the photos from the Pierce book.
Andrew | May 30, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
I just received it today fast shipping, I'm very happy .
Larry | August 14, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very solid weapon. The counter weight could be a little heavier to balance the blade.
Steven | September 27, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The sword was a gift for my adult son. He said, "Best.Gift.EVER."
Linda | December 28, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I received my sword yesterday, and I am happy with my sword! It feels wonderful in my hands and looks it too. I think she is a very accurate sword of that era.
Michael | January 08, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very nice, just a little less on fit and finish but beautiful and the sharpening service was great.
Ken | January 28, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Unique taper and shape at the tip of the blade.  Rounded, rather than straight up pointy.  The etching on the blade is nicely done and dark.  This is not too heavy or poorly balanced, so its easy for me to use one-handed without discomfort.  The leather wrapped grip is firm, and feels good in the hand; its not slippery at all.  Very happy with this sword, highly recommended.  
Jeffrey | January 28, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I love it! It is everything I hoped for.
Ty | January 28, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I'd been wanting this sword for a long time, and finally sprang for it. The quality, fit and finish are a steal for the money. I had mine sharpened, and it is a wicked piece of work. The scabbard is sturdy and attractive. The grip is comfortable and does not slip. The pommel is nicely peened and polished, and helps to provide a secure grasp. The cross guard is my only complaint- the channel where the blade passes through could be much smaller. The blade itself is beautifully polished, and holds a razor edge. The weapon is solid and sturdy, with a nice heft to it and a good balance.
John | August 10, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (1/0)
I'm very happy with the Windlass Ulfberht sword. Another A+ for the team at MRL.
Christopher | September 19, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Sword is awesome,very happy with everything.sharp sword is very sharp,again very happy
Scott | May 14, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)