(0)
 
Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
Best experience ever!
Top notch professionals working here. We needed the Knights Templar Accolade Sword for my grandsons wedding. The sword was on back order with a minimum 4-6 week wait.  We had exactly 4 weeks before the wedding. I called Atlanta Cutlery and Mia was so helpful and made every inquiry to get our sword to us on time. We are now 13 days away from the wedding and we received the sword yesterday. We could not have been more pleased and grateful. We presented to our son so he could used to it before the wedding. The sword was beautifully well made as well as the scabbard. Thank you so much for taking the time to help us and making sure my grandson’s wedding day was complete.
Cindy | August 25, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Classic
I could not be more pleased.   Beautifully rendered with great care and wonderfully balanced.
Mike | July 20, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great sword
Very nice sword.
Robert | July 20, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Sword... but a Warning..
Great Sword!! I would recommend this piece to anyone.....but with a BIG WARNING. Maybe mine was just a bad batch, I don't know. But the POMMEL and the CROSSGUARD are BRASS. They are only plated with the silverish steel color. Now I take very good care of my collection, which is quite large so it can be quite the task at times. I am most certainly not trying to brag, and I am most definitely not rich lol. I just have a deep seeded fascination with military history, and the beauty and craftsmanship of a nice blade be it an Egyptian Khopesh, a Roman Gladius, a German Greatsword, or any of the beautiful Sabers used to help carve out the New World. Now out of my collection 17 are Windlass Blades, save for the Battlecry Buckler and the Battlecry Fiore' Warhammer, both of which are excellent! Especially the Hammer. An awesome grey/black Gambeson, Grey Huntingdon pants to match, Maille Gauntlets, my newest order was the Norman Tunic W/Belt, the Huntingdon Pants and an English Bowie. The Bowie was out of stock but I'm sure I will receive it in due time. The Visored Bascinet Helmet. Not to mention small nick-nacks, gifts for friends, etc. And I have to say I absolutely love everything I own from Windlass/MRL/ACC. For anybody that has been polite enough to read all of this so far I will throw you a secret, Windlass BEST SWORD.... ready?
"The European Sword by Windlass". Yep, pick one up if you don't believe me, if you can find one that is.
OK onto the bad part of this review. Like I said the Accolade Sword pommel and crossguard are made of brass and simply plated in a silvery metallic.. something.
Like I said I take very good care of my entire collection, I use Flitz on all of my swords or any other weapons or armor that may need it. I like the results I get from Flitz and it is also recommended by Windlass to use it, and they also carry it for sale I believe. Now unfortunately I was not aware of the brass pommel and crossguard on the Accolade and polished it like I would any of my swords. After wiping it away the pommel and guard were a blackish-gold color. So I waited awhile and tried again to see if I could get the original color back but to no avail. Awhile later I contacted customer service, and the lady was VERY NICE and apologized and told me exactly what to do. So I followed her instructions and took quite a few pictures of the sword and the pommel and crossguard, and emailed them to the address she gave me. I believe it was Windlass or MRL Tech/Info, I will dig into my address book and see. Well that was a couple months ago and still no word from them nothing. Now just like everyone else out there I am a busy person, and the Accolade is part of a large collection. I'm just really dissapointed that MRL would drop the ball on this one, especially with the Accolade being one of their premier swords. SO, do I recommend this sword? ABSOLUTELY!
Just keep any kind of abrasive cleaner or polish AWAY FROM IT.
Now I love MRL, and will keep buying their products, in fact their new Knights Templar sword really caught my eye. Just really dissapointed in a company I have been purchasing from for 10 plus years. Anyways just heed my warning and you will love this sword.
Casey | April 07, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Beautiful Sword and Highly Accurate
Beautiful blade with superb craftmanship!! The blade was perfect! Super sharp and oiled to perfection! The leather was if the highest quality and the handle fit perfect in my big hand. I highly recommend it and it was almost perfectly accurate from the time. I can't wait to wear it at my wedding!
Johnathan | February 22, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Amazing
The detail and craftsmanship of this sword are incredible.  I love this, and with a full tang amd sharpened blade, I'm rather sure I could actually use this weapon.  It's a nice combination between looking decorative but also being usable.
John | February 19, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Accolade Sword
This  sword is magnificent.. Very high quality, very solid.
david | February 16, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
My first sword and I am pleased with it.
This is my first sword as I am a firearms guy. The quality is very good and balance not bad. I do have to say that most sights including MR had this sword lited as backordered with ant eta of March. I received it from MR in just a few days! I know how to clean and protect firearms so hopefully I can learn to clean protect and preserve this sword. G-Lo Florida
Gregory | February 14, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Beautiful Sword and Fast Shipping!
I found the best price on this sword here on Museum Replicas during their 900 Anniversary of the Templars Sale. Upon ordering it did state back ordered with ETA of late Feb or Early March. I was very surprised when I got an alert of a Priority Mail Package from my USPS account on Jan 21st. It was my sword! Super fast shipping and very well packaged/protected. I am new to long blades and I am very happy with this one being my first. The only thing I would change is for the scabbard to secure the blade at least a bit better so that it doesn't fit so loosely. Other than that I have no complaints. Thank you Museum Replicas and Atlanta Cutlery for your fast shipping of my  Accolade Sword of the Knights Templar.
Gregory | January 31, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Grand Templar Sword
Beautiful craftsmanship work completed on the Sword with inlaid ingragraving and leather works. A definitely a grade of A+.
Phillip | January 26, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
DENNIS
Up-date of review of 2016, the sword is still in excellent condition, ages very, very, well, assuming it is maintained as RECOMMENDED, as well the leather works that came with it. If you aren't sure about what to do, DON'T use any part of the sword to learn on. Even something as simple as cleaning/polishing, if done incorrectly,, can make "matters worse.". Seek "professional advice" about the care of ALL parts, if you have concerns. Be less concerned about your "EGO" by asking or admitting advice is needed. Over half a century I've learned that asking for help is far better than damaging your investment by not asking.
Dennis | January 21, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very Nice Aesthetics
Good blade and hilt construction, blade is well polished and the writing in it is clear. pommel is also well done and is solidly peened over. comes with a nice belt and scabbard as well.
Francis | January 17, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Awesome sword to behold; Does not age well...
Hello all, bought this sword within hours of receiving the MRL catalog it debuted in. I believe it was on page 1 or 2, picked up the phone and as always the ACC gentleman on the other end was "aces" taking my order. The oxblood grip with wire wrap is excellent, as is the flawless blade with inlay. A tiny bit blade heavy however I train with weapons (normally swords) 3 evenings a week. So no complaints there. The belt scabbard is seriously heavy duty leather BIG bonus. Very sharp edges! I ran a fine ceramic rod over the edges to polish any burrs away and wow! As with almost any sword you are going to feel the tang vibrate inside the handle when cutting mats. The reason I gave it 4/5 stars are as follows. The pommel is (was) beautiful. I take immaculate care of all my blades with Flitz, which is what MRL and ACC sells and reccomends. I use it on all 19 of my blades (12 are MRL/ACC) with excellent results..... except this one. It made the colors on the pommel run and gave the rest of the pommel an un-appealing grey/black color, which is a shame as the pommel was one of my main attractions to the sword. Also the crossguard took on a totally bronze color which keeps me busy keeping the greenish patina away. These things have made me hesitant to buy the new matching dagger which looks quite nice.
Would I buy the Accolade again? Yes!
However I would send it to MRL/ACC for cleaning and upkeep.
Now, in their defense I have not yet until now, brought these 2 problems to MRL/ACC's attention. And once again I must point out they're EXCELLENT staff. Perhaps they will take care of me? Also I did not receive reward points for the Accolade. Although it was a couple years ago $375 is not exactly a drop in the bucket (to me anyways). SO,,,,,,,,,,,
If you like the sword, definitely pick it up! Just be careful with the pommel and crossguard and you will have a functional heirloom in the family indefinitely!
Casey Joseph S.
Casey | October 07, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Impeccable Craftmenship
The craftsmanship of this blade was impeccable.  I ordered this sword on December 29th, 2018 and received it on March 28th, 2018. Three months was a small price to pay for such a well-made sword!

Reading some of the other reviews here, and even seeing some of the videos covered on this product on YouTube had worried me a bit after ordering, though having the sword in hand made me smile.  It completed defied any of the negative rumors, and I was pleasantly surprised to find it surpassed all of my expectations.

For someone like me who belongs to a Living History Group, a seriously under-rated feature of this product is the scabbard and sword-belt.  This belt is not only beautiful, but functional.  Past belts have dramatically sagged from the weight of pouches, swords, and other trinkets/bobbles.  This girdle is one of the finest upholstery I've ever warn. I can put it on once over my armor, and be sure I will never have to readjust it until it comes time to take it off. Marvelous!

The blade itself captures the spirit of the Knights Templar. While it may be a bit more fantastical than what the majority of most Templars owned; historically speaking, it resonates the mantra of the Templar code, which to me is far superior to 100% flawless accuracy. That is not to dismiss this sword as being fictional.  It's components are very believable, and are affixed from a variety of different realistic sword styles.

The pommel, is a very nice touch. It adds nice counterbalance to the blade. More-over, the design upon the pommel's face is perfect.  It is important for me that a Templar sword have the Psalm 115 invocation, as well as the sigilum militum X pisti, and they managed to incorporate both.

They did a good job using actual Templar heraldry, and not just stereotypical cross shapes. this is a sword made passionately by medievalists, for medievalists. And I will maintain this was one of the best purchases I've ever made.

A special thanks to Museum Replicas and Atlanta Cutlery!
Dane | March 29, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Master piece for a Templar Master
As a descendant of a Templar Master, I couldn’t choose a better symbol to honour my lineage. When I purchased my sword, I decided to have it sharpened so it was true to the heart of the Templar code.
Because my sword is sharpened, I am unable to engage in combat, and I intend to purchase a second one unsharpened. When I take to the field of battle, I shall wear both swords, along with a finely crafted metal Templar shield.
I take my connection with the Templar order very seriously, as with other great figures of history from my family tree.
I have used my sharpened blade for testing the edge, for ease of use in combat, and those who say it is too heavy, I strongly disagree, the sword is well balanced, and can easily change direction of your swing while maintaining the same strength of the blow.
If you find it too heavy, then you need to strengthen both arms with practice.
Michael | March 19, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
My opinion of the sword and it's finish is average.  It is sturdy and well constructed but lacks the finish and polish I expected from a blade which is obviously for show.  The blade shows tool marks on its length and the pommel.  The attachment of the pommel to grip doesn't demonstrate the level of craftsmanship I would expect from a sword at this price point.  The scabbard and belt are nicely made but again lack attention to detail I would expect as the belt holes are so small only a child or a very slim adult (not one wearing armor) could possibly wear it comfortably.
William | September 25, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The sword is beautiful! Nicely crafted and well balanced. I ordered mine sharpened and it came very sharp. Very satisfied with it! Thank you
Fred | August 25, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Beautiful sword, I took off 1 star because my sword had a lot of scratches on the cross guard, the sword is blade heavy and the scabbard is so loose it just falls right off the sword if you are not holding it. This is my 3rd purchase from Museum Replicas and been happy with all my purchases, I just really wish they tighten up their quality control, every purchase so far had some minor stuff wrong, like scratches, something loose Etc....., but overall I love their products.
sammy | December 18, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Excellent Sword! Beautiful! Very pleased with the craftmanshiip!
Barry | December 11, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I purchased 1 of them when first advertised. Long time collector of edged weapons. Was impressed, bought another 1. Over 50 yrs.(am 68 now). of collecting "swords", this company simply cannot be bested in quality items and very reasonable prices. Wish they had been around 50 yrs. ago.
Dennis | April 15, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The quality and craftsmanship was well above my expectations. It took longer to receive the sword than expected but worth the wait. Could have been better communication to the buyer on this point.
Michael | March 20, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A beautiful work of Art, I am impressed with the quality of this sword and will proudly display it in my home. Outstanding workmanship!
Jeffrey | January 25, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The 1st Accolade Sword I received was badly tarnished and the blade scratched up. Looked like they sent me a used sword. I contacted customer service at Museum Replicas and they exchanged it for me. The one I have now is the master piece of my collection. I use renaissance wax on my swords and this one is so nicely crafted, The scabbard and belt compliments this sword nicely. I ordered this sword sharpened and It is SHARP. I feel a battle ready sword should be just that, my reason for getting it sharp. The Pommel, grip, crossbar and blade are all made with great quality. If you are reading reviews on this sword my advice is to buy it. I love this sword and its my favorite piece. Thank you Museum Replicas for a great sword and super customer service.
Scott | October 17, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Beautiful craftsmanship, well-balanced and an excellent sword.  
Eldon | September 21, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The Quality of the Sword is Superb,Scabbard and Belt a true work of art. Just a Beautiful sword to proudly display it in my Office
Elias | June 08, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A very beautiful sword.  Definitely worthy of display.  On that note, it is too heavy for a one handed sword and would have been better made as a hand and a half sword.  If you can afford this sword buy it because its beautiful.  
Raffaele | April 19, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This sword is for the true Templar's of this world, not the Johnny come lately folks of the Masonic's,the free Masons, or the Shriners ( I do not have any problem with them, and wish them well), but please don't try to assimilate the Templar's into your Club's....Thank You!
Edwin | March 02, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Honestly, I was shocked.  With the rave reviews here, the description of 'Masterworking' and the price, I was hoping for a much more impressive piece.  It's obvious it is "Made in India".  The quality just isn't there.  The only saving grace was it didn't take weeks to get, and I managed to get it on the yearly sale day.  Otherwise, I'd have given it 'two stars'.
Colin | July 02, 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is a beautiful sword.  It is know the prize of my collection.  Great craftsmanship in the detail.  The Belt compliments the sword, it is just as beautiful.  I am not sure exactly how the double belt should be worn, so if anyone has any advice, it would be greatly appreciated.  I will wear this sword with honor when I give the first lecture of the Order of the Temple.  I know our candidates are just as impressed with the sword.  Any Templar giving the prechamber lecture should have this sword if he is in full Templar gear.
Scott | April 06, 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This sword is AWESOME! Very high quality. And Templar's are great.
Joshua | September 22, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
After 11 weeks and two calls to check on my order, my patience was being put to the test, but when the sword arived, I forgot how long I had to wait. This sword more than lives up to the expectations I had for it! This was my first hand forged  sword and with this quality, I may never need another. Nothing for us, Lord, but for your glory.
Nathan | September 16, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This sword looks amazing, can anyone confirm that it is a full tang? It looks like it is, but I want to make sure. Also, is it pretty durable? I enjoy slicing and mild use of my swords. Can this amazing blade hold up to the use?
Jacob | June 22, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This sword is beautiful. I'm so happy with it. The writing down the middle is very nicely written in.
Gavin | June 16, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
After five and a half weeks it finally arrived.  From the doubled sided pommel to the razor sharp blade, to the awesome scabbard -  I couldn't be happier.  I think I may be done sword collecting. I don't know how you folks can possibly top this sword.  The engraving speaks to me personally too. Save your money get this sword. You won't be disappointed!
james | April 13, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
One of the best looking swords I have seen. Everything about it is cool. The belt fits perfect and I'm a bigger guy. Any of you fellow Templar brothers should have this sword.
Daniel | March 13, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Adam | December 27, 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)