(0)
 

Product reviews for Windlass Classic Bastard Sword

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
A
I had bought this sword as a 50th birthday gift for a friend and this was the first time I opted for further customization. It was ordered with both sharpening and initials which were both available. The edge was razor sharp and the engraved initials were perfectly done. The sword and scabbard were finely crafted and I was envious of this very well received birthday gift, my friend loved it! Some day in the not too distant future I sorely wish for one of my own...
Dwight | September 07, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
EXCELLENT BASTARD SWORD, SIMPLE AND POWERFUL
Windlass hits another home run!! Now, from what I understand, this Sword is a "Re-Run" of a Sword they had produced at some point in the past and brought back into production for some time. So I thought to myself is this going to be a sword that has sat in a warehouse for 10 years?.....mmm.... Well if they have they stored them perfectly👍.  However, as good a quality as these are I seriously doubt that they have 🗡🗡👍.  Absolutely love this Sword! The grip is excellent. Excellent quality rich, black leather. Oval shaped and tapered slightly to the middle spacer, then slightly more tapered to the pommel, a (scent-stopper) style I beleive, makes for an EXCELLENT GRIP SINGLE OR TWO HANDED! On top of the pommel you can see where the thick tang of the blade has been HAMMER PEENED INTO PLACE. The crossguard is solid. Period correct. A little plain, but hey, leaves a customization option. I didn't think I would like the ricasso, I usually don't, but a little thought and you realize that it is EXCELLENT FOR HALFSWORDING (Holding the Sword like a Spear) 👍👍. Now PERSONALLY I have covered the Ricasso with thick, black leather. (Think the Braveheart Sword). But I'm a semi-pro sword customizer, with access to every material one would need, so customize at your own risk! THE BLADE ALSO IS JUST AWESOME! It is Broad and Straight, being surprisingly light. Now typically a Bastard Sword blade would be a touch longer, but this LENGTH IS JUST RIGHT!! The handling of this sword is just a touch blade heavy, but a REAL BASTARD SWORD LIKE THIS IS NOT FOR THE FAINT OF HEART in the first place. My blade came nicely sharpened, definetely sharp enough to cut Tatami Mats and water bottles, etc. However,  just like any Companies sharpening service it could always use a little touch up. The grind was EXCELLENT! Whoever sharpened mine really knew what they were doing 👍🗡⚔👍! Last thing I will say is this sword is simple yet extremely FUNCTIONAL. I consider it the "Big Brother" of my Windlass "European Sword". AAAA+++++

                                    Casey Stewart in Panama City, Florida
Casey | August 30, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Love this sword!
Absolutely love this sword!  Great quality and a nice price.  I got it sharpened and initialized.  Looks great!
Tony | July 22, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great hand and a half
Great sword. This is probably my tenth sword I’ve purchased from MR and again very pleased. Sword came perfectly wrapped and protected. Sword perfectly sharpened and fits in sheath like it should. Well balanced either using one hand or two. Very much recommend to anyone who wants a great sword.
Steven | May 25, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
No true bastard but its reliable,tough,and beautiful
I've owned this sword for over a year and a half now, and I have put it through the wringer through rain,ice,snow etc.  I gotta say I love the weight, it reminds me of a cold steel maa grosse messer when It comes to its weight,durability,and cutting abilities. You should be able to use this sword like a cold steel maa grosse messer. I have personally Cut,thrust,chop heavy wood targets, countless medium and soft targets  and used this sword as somewhat of a fancy "beater" but it refuses to compromise its integrity. Fittings still tight, blade has held edge with only having to resharpen once in a year and a half.no chips on blade, nothing. Minimal, and I mean minimal Oil and wax have kept the entire piece pitt mark,and rust free. I've had this sword out in the rain for many hours of many days, abusing it as hard as reason will allow me, and the sword looks as if it's only been hanging on the wall the entire time. Definitely recommend it at the price
Nicholas | February 07, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
No true bastard,but reliable,durable,and beautiful
I've owned this sword for over a year and a half now, and I have put it through the wringer through rain,ice,snow etc.  Ingotta say I love the weight, it reminds me of a cold steel maa grosse messer when It comes to its weight,durability,and  slashing abilities. You should be able to use this sword like a cold steel maa grosse messer. I have personally Cut,thrust,chop heavy wood targets, countless medium and soft targets  and used this sword as somewhat of a fancy "beater" but it refuses to compromise its integrity. It just wont die. Fittings still tight, blade has held edge with only having to resharpen once in a year and a half.no chips on blade, nothing. Minimal, and I mean minimal Oil and wax have kept the entire piece pitt mark,and rust free. I've had this sword out in the rain for many hours of many days, abusing it as hard as reason will allow me, and the sword looks as if it's only been hanging on the wall the entire time. Definitely recommend it at the price.
Nicholas | February 07, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very pleased
I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the box (Which was bent. Thanks UPS...) The fittings were nice and brightly polished rather then the antiqued finish shown in the pictures. It does seem a bit heavy for exclusive one handed use but, the pommel fits very comfortably in the hand for two handed use. Plus, the added bonus of the ricasso for this purpose as well if one chooses. Overall, a very nice sword for the money!
Shaun | August 01, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Bastard Sword
A very pretty sword and a good cutter.  She's a little heavy but this only pulls her forward into a cut.  A very impressive sword for a Faire or other event.  I had been eyeing this one for years before pulling the trigger and am not disappointed.
Peter | July 31, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The only thing I can think of is totally wonderful sword. Could not have been happier!
Michael | June 23, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)