(0)
 

Product reviews for Battlecry Bosworth Longsword

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
Great Sword...Modified.
I had long been struggling with purchasing this sword. I love the design, but was not a fan of the blackened look. My answer....I got it and strpped all the blackening off the blade, guard and pommel. Then polished all to a mirror finish. It's not an easy task. It took two days to complete, but it is now a jewel in my collection. Light, well balanced, well constructed. Very happy with the purchase. I just wished Windlass offered these in non-blacked versions. Highly recommend, stripped or blackened.
John | July 20, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Amazing sword!
This is one incredible and fast sword!  After owning it for some time I came to the conclusion that this is one of the best swords you can purchase at this price, especially for this blade style!
Adrian | July 12, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Excellent sword
Large greatsword, but so well-balanced as to feel relatively light in the hand.  Also pleased with the scabbard and frog that came with the sword.   Everything of excellent quality.  I bought  the Agincourt dagger as a companion piece (although I wish they  had a larger dagger to go with the Bosworth Longsword!)
kevin | May 22, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
An excellent choice (aguably the best) for practicing longsword
A very nicely done sword. It handles extremely well thanks to a very well designed blade geometry which finely tapers to a very nice tip ideal for a good thrusting sword. The blade is not excessively flexible and is tempered so as to have a good amount of stiffness to it, making it further optimized for the thrust. The blade finish has a pleasant black marble look, much better than the more commonly seen blued steel on other vendor's products. The grip is the real luxury of this sword as the leather is stitched and of surprisingly nice quality, considering the price. The riser pattern beneath the leather provides added contours for a nice grip and the pommel is perfectly shaped to be utilized for complex rotations in the lower hand when gripped.

I have noticed that there is some notable vibration that has developed near the pommel over the course of the sword seeing regular use, so the sword's construction may have not been perfectly done. I do not consider this to be a fatal flaw as it is only noticeable when the pommel is forcefully struck or there is significantly strong impact on the lower portion of the blade just past the center of percussion. During drills and handling the sword does not demonstrate any problematic sensations, so I do not think it is a severe issue. It should give one pause when pondering whether to charge into battle  (if one were so inclined) with this particular weapon however.  

However, given the price point, the sword serves as an excellent training tool for practicing martial arts and there isn't much which can compete with it. It truly handles perfectly and the grip is so nicely done that it's a solid choice for the swordsman who desires a fast and agile blade that sings in the hand(s). A great choice.
Ryan | April 28, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A must have longsword!
If you love the longsword you need this one in your armoury. It is ready to go out of the box and handles like a dream. I removed the black finish from the blade and it looks beautiful against the black hilt. Please make more swords like this!
Dan | January 24, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Modern times, so much given.
Fine craftsmanship. Perfect for the collector. We take so much for granted today.
mark | November 21, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Bosworth Longsword
I am extremely pleased with this sword. For me, it essentially serves a decorative purpose and exceeds in that capacity. The blued finish has a gorgeous detail that is difficult to make out in the website's pictures. Paired with the shining silver blade, it is a beautiful sword. I must state that while it spends most of its time on display, I did not want to hang any weapon that isn't functional as well; it feels good in-hand, arrives pre-sharpened, and while I've only cut pumpkins with it there was no problem there... I honestly thought I somehow missed the pumpkin, my first strike; it didn't move. This sword cleanly bisected it laterally into two halves! Very fun :) My only reservation is that while the sword arrives "scissor sharp", I am reluctant to attempt to further sharpen it due to wanting to preserve the beautiful blue-black finish.  I believe this is a terrific weapon for the price, and am completely satisfied with this purchase.
Drew | October 09, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Well Received Beauty
The Bosworth Longsword is well worth the price and the wait when on back order. I received this beauty and am very impressed with its handling and cutting ability. The thin blade makes slicing recovery superb and the action is fast. The supporting sections are beefy and well balanced, nothing loose or off center. Yet another great sword from the Windlass, say what you will about the over-seas manufacturing but they got it right on this one and the other two I own.
David | December 27, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Deal
My wife got one of these for my birthday - since I had been talking about them for a year, and I expected it to be a decent sword. I was mistaken, it is an excellent one! I am very impressed. The balance is very nice, making it fast and nimble. The grip is well designed and it handles well. I have handled other, much more expensive, blades and this one is better than most and half to one third( ) the price.

Please make a side sword for this line!!!

J.S.
Joshua | December 12, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The sword feels great in the hand and is accurate in design with the exception of finish. The sheath is a nice addition for transportation. But the edge could have been much sharper, the angle was much to steep. Here is a video review https://youtu.be/uEiW-d-Gd-w.
Lehi | September 04, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
After watching JC beat heck out of a pell with the bosworth, I knew I needed one for my pell work. I was not disappointed. The handling is wicked-fast, and the edge (which comes "scissors-sharp") doesn't show wear even after I have knocked many sizeable chunks out of my own pell. And at this price-point, if I break it in a year, I won't feel too bad about it. I'll just get another one and gleefully abuse it 'till it breaks too! After handling the bosworth, I want the whole Battlecry line. Great stuff!
Derek | January 25, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Outstanding piece!  Feels light and nimble in the hand.  Cuts soft  targets like butter.  Haven't tried it on anything too rugged yet.  Looks great, feels great.  Only took a star off because it was a pain in the ads to get out of the package.  
Josiah | October 01, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The Bosworth sword that I received had a rather concave edge on one side of the blade, almost as though the swordsmith nodded off while putting an edge on it.  Which was surprising, given that I own several other swords from Windlass that are excellent weapons With great craftsmanship.  I returned this Bosworth sword.
Jarold | August 30, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is a wonderful sword.  Period.  For the price range, I do not know of a better one.
The price is reminiscent of one from a competitor, but the way this moves, and the scent stopper design sets it apart.
This sword moves like the swords that I drool over that are out of my price range.
I would prefer a different cross guard, but I didn't design it so I will not rate it down for that.
Hands down the best moving longsword in its price range, AND it moves as well as far more expensive blades.
The one warning is that the diamond cross section is kind of pronounced (and probably how they keep the price down).  This does not bother me, but it will bother some, and you should be aware.
Well done Museum Replicas and Mr. Clements.  This is a genuine sword with exceptional feel, not some movie based parody.  
Gerard | June 30, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I feel like I'm more of a one handed type of guy so I was surprised at how much I liked this sword. Long and lightweight, I feel unfairly fast holding this blade. Woe to my enemies on the battlefield!
Mark | May 03, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I am extremely pleased and impressed with the Bosworth Longsword. It is exactly what I had been hoping and waiting for: an economical, no nonsense, sharp longsword that handles authentically that can be used for test cutting experiments. It basically handles identically to high-end sparring steel "feather" swords. Highly recommended.
ADAM | April 13, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)