(0)
 

Product reviews for The English Cutlass

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
English Cutlass
This Cutlass is very well made.  Fit and finish was great.  Only problem I had with it at all is the guard/grip is pretty small.  If you have larger hands at all this is not the weapon for you.
Andrew | November 03, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The English Cutlass
Quality sword and excellent workmanship.
Marc | August 29, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
David
This Cutlass is great bought for my 15 yr old son for his birthday. He's going to love it.
David | December 09, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Cute little sword
I bought this for my sister's pirate costume.  She loves it because it's very shiny and glamorous.
Jonathan | October 12, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Beautiful Cutlass and a great addition to my collection
I purchased this as a Deal of the Day.  As I've already purchased several items from Museum Replicas, I knew I couldn't go wrong with this cutlass.
It arrived quickly and very well packed and protected.  MR is great at shipping their swords securely.
The finish of spectacular.  It looks great and has a wonderful feel.  Nicely balanced, light and easy to control.   As others have suggested, wearing a glove might be a good idea as the handle is smooth and could shift in one's hand.  A glove would offer a more stable grip.  I ordered this sharpened and the edge is very sharp; nicely done.  I keep this one by my bedside.  Woe to the intruder who enters my chambers.
Michael | March 19, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Absolutely a 5 star item in every way, except for the complaint listed by a few others. The hilt is exceedingly small.  I can fit my hand into it and around the grip, but my knuckles are pressed into the guard.  I don't have overly large hands, either.

That being said, I purchased this piece as a gift for a girl with rather small hands, having read the reviews for it, and fully being prepared for the smaller size of the half basket. I haven't given it to her yet (Christmas is right around the corner), but I'm am very confident she will find it quite comfortable.

It's quite a shame, though, as this is an amazing piece.  The brass work, the blade, the balance and feel, it is beautiful.  I would love one for myself, if I could only comfortably wield it.
Michael | December 11, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The quality of materials used to make this Cutlass are excellent along with the price. The blade is good steel. The length of the grip will only fit very small hands. The grip length needs to be increased by at least one inch to fit a medium to large hand. As is, the Cutlass is unusable. If this weapon is for display only, it gets a 5. If it were to be used as a true Cutlass, it gets a 1. The brass basket curves back and presses on the first finger and knuckle  painfully due to the short grip. I own a large collection of swords purchased from MRL. This is a keeper for display only. The sheath fits the blade well but the brass tip on the sheath was so pointed and sharp I had to round the tip with a stone for safety reasons. My advice for MRL is to make sure your Quality Control Department gets more involved in sizing specifications.
Gerald | July 06, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
My son was very pleased with the quality of this sword. Price, shipping time, and condition it arrived were perfect. I recommend this company for several purchases and have had consistent service each time.
kelly | January 21, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Beautiful cutlass fits me well I did wrap the grip in leather to break the all brass up a little and I ordered it sharpened and it is very sharp I would recomend this to anyone looking for a cutlass
James | November 28, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is a nicely balanced cutlass. The blade is well made and seems to hold an edge. The one piece brass guard, basket and grip are a problem, however.  The grip is small and tapers towards the pommel.  Combined with the natural slickness of the bare brass it is easy to lose control of the weapon without a leather glove. Combine this blade with the basket and grip from the Scottish cutlass and I would buy several.
Michael | September 24, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Really impressed with this cutlass. I ordered it sharpened and it is Sharp!  Highly recommend this item.
Paul | October 29, 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)