(0)
 

Product reviews for Conan Father’s Sword

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
The Master Sword
Aesthetically a nice sword. The bronze finish on the one I received is more of an antiqued brass rather than a bronze finish. The runes on the blade being described as deep is kind of misleading as they do not have any substantial depth into the blade. Rather they are either laser etched or electro chemically etched. Either way the lines of the etching are clean and well defined.
 I ordered mine sharpened. It is very sharp, though one edge was done perfectly straight and the other edge has an obvious wave to it. So do be aware that if you opt for having them sharpen for you it is being done by hand therefore will be subject to possible inconsistency.
 In the hand it is all forward weight. So it wields like a bludgeoning weapon. The assembly components are all tight and secure and it looks great, overall a great buy.
 My reason for giving 4 stars and not 5 is only due to having also purchased the atlantean sword which is a notch above this one.
Brian | January 24, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Fantastic Sword
I have always been a really big fan of the Conan movies and have dreamed of having the swords from the movies.  This one is really nice, not just for the price, but a really nice sword.  The lettering is etched in the the blade and it feels solid.  I am not going to defend against any barbarian hordes but I fits the bill on my game room wall.
Kenneth | November 01, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Stunning!
Really impressive, lived up to all expectations.
Kevin | December 15, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I have wanted this sword since I was 11 or 12 years old when posters of the first movie started coming out and the Father's Sword was incorporated as a part of the logo. The novelazation of the script by Lin Carter and L Sprauge DeCamp with details on the sword's construction whetted my appetite before the movie came out. For years the swords were simply not available. The versions made by Albion were ridiculously expensive and the high-end versions by Marto may have looked nice, but were overpriced wall-hangers at best.

Thankfully, Windlass Steelcrafts and Museum Replicas came to the rescue. This sword completely exceeded my expectations in look, feel and execution.

I always order them sharp and whomever sharpened it did an outstanding job with a hair-popping edge. Packaging was perfect to protect the sword in shipping.

The only downsides are there is no display case/box/hanger or a scabbard. It would be nice for MR to offer these in the future, but I can make my own if need be.

Thank you, Museum Replicas and Windlass for making this outstanding piece and going above and beyond with regard to customer service. You will continue to see my business for many years.
Mike | December 08, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very solid sword, and well made. Extremely detailed.  Ordered sharp, came sharp.  Huge quality difference between this high carbon MRL sword and knockoff stainless ones meant to merely hang on a wall. This sword is substantial and absolutely gorgeous. My only knock (and why I'm not giving 5 stars) is no scabbard.  For the price, I get it...but I wish MRL would at least make/offer a scabbard made for both the Father's Sword and the Atlantean Sword respectively to complete the sets.  As it stands now, your only other options are paying top dollar ($1K or more) to have one custom made, or paying 300 euros to an overseas Italian shop for scabbards made for another company's high-end Conan swords, and hoping for the best.  Hopefully, MRL will address this in the future.
Scott | September 01, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
When you consider that wallhanger version cost about twice as much its pretty hard not to like it.This at least you can cut some water jugs. It is not exact to the of the movie sword but you hardly notice. The differences in some ways I find more appealing. The blade is somewhat wider then the movie version and it makes it look really beefy. If you want the Fathers sword buy this one.
John | June 22, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
One of the best swords I own
would like to see subtai Sword and scabbard for all
Conan swords
clinton | May 02, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I received as a Christmas gift Last year. Well worth the purchase. My wife had it sharpened knowing I would want it that way and wow, great job. Being a HUGE fan of the original movie this sword is very dear to my heart. I was not disappointed in the least....GREAT PIECE!
Joseph | May 15, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I have loved this sword and wanted it badly since William Smith (Conan's father) first held it aloft in the opening scenes. Far more than the Atlantean sword, the shape, style and beauty of this sword had me lusting after it for thirty years. Now, I own it :D
Pros: While not identical to the movie version, it is highly detailed and the differences so minute (other than structural considerations in the hilt I will explain momentarily) that only an obsessed fan *raises hand* would notice.
It is surprisingly well-balanced for a sword as heavy as it is. For fighting blades and general swordsmanship, I prefer Tinker Pearce's blades for their accurate weight and balance (light light LIGHT! Heavy weapons = dead warriors, as true today as it was back then), so when I say this it means something. No wallhanger-slinger am I, yet I can cut and move with this about as well as I can a heavier hand-and-a-half. Not that I expect most people buying this will take it out for tatami cutting or AEMMA/ARMA training, but it was still a pleasant surprise.

Cons: Weight is a bit of a con if you plan on carrying this around as part of a barbarian costume, but that comes with the territory of a movie-based sword. The hilt is different from the movie in that it is hollow as opposed to a solid chunk of bronze. This keeps it from weighing 2-3lbs heavier, so overall this is a minor con.
Cleaning is an issue due to the hilt construction. Not much of one, but due to the hollow skull eyes allowing access to the blade within, you will need to get in there with cleaning-cloth-on-a-steek tools to maintain the blade. Due dilligence for maintaining such a blade required.

Overall, an excellent purchase.
Breandan | June 17, 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)