(0)
 

Product reviews for Battlecry Agincourt War Sword

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
Black Beauty
I wanted  something  more  practical  than the  Accolade
Dennis | November 07, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Excellent Working Sword
Superbly made weapon.  The finish on it makes you treat it more like a functional tool rather than a display piece that must be pampered.  Not that it does not display nicely but these item were originally designed to be used and carried and could not always be kept from the elements.
Mike | October 09, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Agincourt sword
Once again MRL comes through with another impressive product. I now own all but the Maldon Viking sword of the Battlecry sword series, each one unique and equally impressive in their own right. This is the shortest sword I have seen in a while but it fills a gap between arming sword and longsword. Buy this sword and you wont regret it. Especially with the 15% discount for Christmas.
Chris | December 19, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Mine came in with a few manufactory flaws. One that seems to be pretty common is the peen at the top. It isn't ground to be flush with the pommel and can be abrasive and snag some if not careful. This is an easy fix however if someone has the time to file it down but then you will lose the aged stonewash finish.
A big flaw that I was disappointed with that I can't really fix is that the handle is uneven. It is all tight and fine and you can not really tell when you are handling it, but the handle and the crossguard are not centered and this was a let down. Also not very sharp. I can get over the sharpness and the peen but adding both of those together with the unevenness of the handle and cross guard drops it down to 3 stars. Mine is probably just a manufacturing issue, so still worth the money in my book.
Samuel | February 27, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Not bad at all... Much better quality and performance than I have come to expect from MRL. This sword is very well tempered and is genuinely ready right out of the box. The edge comes semi-sharp but that seems to be accepted as historically accurate. It was fine for my purposes, but if you want sharper, that can be remedied quickly to suit your taste. This is a well made, well tempered sword that fits the bill either as a good entry level cutter or a solid training sword for cutting, pell work and thrusting. A good bargain.
| January 17, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Beautiful sword indeed! I would have definitely recommended it to a friend looking for a "historically accurate" reproduction piece. Only two complaints: 1. The sword is advertised as being very sharp, however it came out of the box sadly needing to be sharpened. Huge pet peeve of mine. DO NOT advertise your product as "battle-ready" when I can run my thumb up & down both sides of my sword without so much as a paper cut. Ya know what, I would rather them tell the truth so I can expect there to be a need for me to sharpen it....without knowing the whole truth that very much constitutes false advertising. #2: the peen sticking out at the very base of the handle is not only a pain (literally) but it is sharper than the blade itself, and since writing this I have had to sandpaper what sharpness off the peen that I could. I had to fix that so it neither cuts my palm open or get snagged in the material of my cloak or other clothing while attempting to draw. This now makes two issues that Quality Control should have caught before shipping this...or ANY blade with these very visual problems. I bought this piece expecting to have a "finished product," NOT a do-it-yourself project. Thats the worst part for me, I am disappointed because I know Museum Replicas is better than this.
Steven | November 14, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Overall, the product was made very professionally. The leather work on the grip feels really well put-together, and every piece is fitted very well with no rattling anywhere. It's also a very beautiful weapon. The only reason I don't think it deserves a perfect score is the fact that it came with a dull and very slightly warped blade.
Ido | November 04, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Okay...I will admit that I had some reservations about the sword.  The whole tactical black/"battle worn" look is generally the sign of bad swords.  And Clements showing off these swords in the videos is...umm...yeah no.  I know he knows better then what he did in those, so it looks very much like he sold out.  And truth be told, for a hand and a half sword, the blade while not entirely historically inaccurate, it is typically longer by at least 2 inches.  Despite all that, the sword stats looked decent and I had a coupon so why not...and I am glad I did.  The edge is pretty good appleseed edge out of the box...which for a budget sword is almost unheard of.  The weight and balance of the sword feels pretty good for this type of sword, which a few other windlass swords have...but this is the first windlass sword to feel alive in my hands.  My dislike of Clements aside...the man does know his swords and this wasn't him selling out.  It is a very well designed and well made sword for this price.  Definitely worth the price.
| October 13, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is a fantastic sword. Every part of it is solid and beautiful. The blade is shorter and lighter than the average arming sword, and the hilt is narrower, fitting the hand very well and making it perfect for a smaller warrior. The point of percussion is 11 1/2 inches down the blade, which means you need to get in very close to your target to make a decent cut, but there is nearly a foot of taper with which to thrust. As a bonus, the sword came with a very stylish frog (that clips into the scabbard preventing slippage), with semi-adjustable belt straps  that make this the most comfortable sword I've ever worn. The scabbard itself is very handsome. It's true the lighter blade sacrifices cutting power, but it is still capable of delivering a blow that would take off the limb of an unarmored fighter with relative ease. Plus, its versatility and shorter length would give an advantage when fighting in corridors and alleys against foes with longswords or arming swords. It is less sharp lower down on the blade, allowing for half-swording and so on. And while it's true I would have sharpened the upper edge more myself, after doing a few test cuts, it is apparent the edge it comes with is going to both do the job and hold up to repeated use... whereas a sharper edge might tend to knick and need to be sharpened often. All-in-all, it's a quality blade.
John | June 07, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I'll be honest. I've been tricked before about so-called "battle ready" swords. But I saw this online, watched the video, and gave it a shot. It is an absolutely AMAZING blade. It far exceeded any expectations I had, and I could not possibly be happier with any sword. It feels great to hold, it's balanced wonderfully, beautifully finished, and even though it's not made apparent, it will shine after being oiled. I'd have gladly paid more for a sword of this quality. I've already used it to hack through some water jugs and bottles, and it swept through them like a knife through butter. No effort at all. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants a functional sword or a decorative piece. I will own the entire Battlecry collection before I'm done, and it's all thanks to the impression I got from THIS sword. Lastly, Museum Replicas is a dream to buy from as well. Any questions I had were prompt and told me everything I needed to know. Thank you again from the kid in me who dreamed about having such a weapon.
Casey | May 18, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I'll be honest.  When I first saw these advertised, having held similarly blued blades by other manufacturers, I was skeptical...I've found most of them to be poorly constructed excuses for more expensive (and functional) items. Glad I checked one out anyway.  This sword is beautiful!  Tightly constructed, agile, well balanced, and capable of a wickedly shearing cut right out of the box, this one will not disappoint. The leather sheath is very sturdy as is the included frog (LH option would be nice, though).  My only real complaint was a slightly sharp edge on the corner of the peen.  A few quick swipes with a file solved that problem.      
Robert | May 14, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I've killed so  many  bottles. I have been playing like a well armed kid since this sword arrived. Came razor sharp out of the box and hasn't quit cutting yet.
David | May 03, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)