(0)
 

Product reviews for Seax

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
Use It to Shave Your Beard
Purchased for display. Hangs on the wall beside a “design your own” sword. Completely cool, but drips testosterone, which tends to stain the bearskin lying on the floor below them. In light of this, sensitive snowflakes may want to consider these effects before making a purchase and endangering their safe space. On the other hand, if you’re a man or woman who appreciates the gleam of toxic masculinity on sharp steel, place your order now!
Michael | September 30, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A Very "Seaxy" Knife
I bought this Seax almost 20 years ago. It has been tied into my pouch flap horizontally. I like all the brass-work, but the blade has a couple flaws: it is stamped out (not hammer forged) and the tang ends in a screwed on pommel. I put a leather washer under the pommel to keep it secured in the proper position. It has a nice heft, but likes to fall out of the scabbard, if you don't tie it in. All in all, it has served me well over many years of hard use around the camp. It "just ain't perfect."
Erik | January 24, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Bad quality control
Was disapointed about this seax. Blade was offset with the handle and the ring before the pommel was loose. Not worth the price I paid
Philippe | September 07, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Seax
This was a great little blade for my husband's birthday! He really loves it and enjoys using it. It's been a source of pride for him.
Word of advice...if you're going to have any blades sharpened, make sure to give the order a little extra time. It's well worth the wait. They do a masterful job. But if you're giving it as a gift, it does take an extra few days or longer.
Lydia | August 20, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Beautiful Weapon
I purchased this during the MR annual sale.  Just arrived today (quick delivery by the way).  It's beautiful.  I love to look and feel.  Great weight
Michael | May 26, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very nice! I was extremely impressed with the look and feel of the Seax! The workmanship is above par!! I would highly recommend it!!
Donald | July 26, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Extraordinary quality.  A great bargain at this price.  I couldn't be happier with this item.

Frank
Frank | April 22, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Just received my new Seax and I could not be happier, great feel in the hand, not too heavy and the grip is perfect length and I have large hands.
Richard J. | December 28, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Every time I have contacted customer service they have been very friendly and helpful, this is my 3rd purchase so far. About this sword, it is a beautiful weapon, came pretty sharp with the sharpening service. Took off 1 star because of the loose metal piece under the guard. Also every time I slide the sword out of the scabbard comes out dirty. Besides those 2 small gripes, I highly recommend this weapon.  
sammy | December 10, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I really like the look and feel of it. My only wish was that some form of instruction had been included on how to accurately attach it to a belt.
timothy | February 18, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Nice clean blade,good solid handgrip, sheath sucks
Donald | February 11, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
4 stars instead of 5 because my seax arrived with a minor tool marking near the hilt and one of the studs on the handle was only half way seated and somewhat bent.  Neither of which matters AFAIC.  This knife/sword is so simple it's beautiful, balanced, light and alive in the hand. You can rapidly see how Nordics considered this a do-all tool both at home and at war.  If I were going on one of these survivor shows that drops you in an unknown wilderness, this is my knife choice.  Beyond recommended.
HERBERT | February 05, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very nice! Superb design. Balanced,comfortable grip. Useful as tool or weapon. One of my favorites. Love it!
charles | November 25, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Beautiful weapon, solid and well made. The sheath left just a bit to be desired in terms of fit to the weapon and different color from the photo in catalog. Another piece of advice, don't ship blades in scabbards or sheaths. Wrap them separate.  
george | November 24, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Another great addition to my collection!  Well made and combat/camp ready.  I would recommend this to anyone!
Ray | July 20, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very high quality, very sharp edge. I'll be using this as a camp knife, Viking enactments, and for general duties.
brian | April 27, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Excellent and beautiful, high quality weapon, well-balanced and historically accurate.  Outstanding quality and value
kevin | January 15, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
nice balance.  feels good to the hand and has a good weight.  sharp as it should be.  good blade
charles | December 31, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Well crafted and surprisingly well balanced.  The on-line catalog may not be accurate about being in stock, so I recommend placing a telephone order if you need it quickly. Took a couple of months to get but well worth the wait.
Lawrence | July 06, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very pleased with my purchase- the seax itself is well made, nicely balanced with nice detail on both the blade and brass pommel.  Since it is unlikely i will be doing any actual viking raiding, i can't comment on its potential combat effectiveness, but for looks, heft, etc- very nice.  Included sheath is well made but plain- easy enough to decorate if one was so inclined.
Tor | January 25, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Not bad.  It looks better than I thought it would.  Now I just have to train myself how to use it.  Came in sharpened which is fine for me, but not used to where the cutting edge is.
Pete | October 25, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
for anyone who is a collector -be WARNED...this is flimsy,loose,and not one of there best works. dont get me wrong its nice but - it seems that they didnt quite get thisone right...maybe in a gen or 2?
Robert | August 04, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This reverse bowie style knife seems as usefull and as strong as any large western Jim Bowie style knife. I intend to have more than one. One for display at home and one for use as a camp/hunting knife, for use as a small machette or for use as a self-defense knife.
Thomas | November 22, 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Beautiful seax fit for a Viking chieftian!   Mine has become my favorite large knife.
Dale | November 18, 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)