20% OFF. Use coupon code - COLLECTOR. Offer valid on all in-stock items.

Product reviews for Roman Pugio

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
Bad
Excellent
Existing reviews
A very well done replica if my research is correct. If it is accurate, the Romans knew what they were doing and this item still functions as a very effective short sidearm. Joe B
Judge Joe | December 27, 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Well made. Should do good in self defense situations, as the discription says.
Thomas | December 01, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A beautiful side-arm, although not the most historically accurate pugio on the market. The handle is the wrong shape for a Pugio. The blade length is about right for an imperial pugio which was usually between 250-350mm, i.e. 10-14", long (republican pugios being shorter at between 150-200mm or 6-8"). The blade usually had a pronounced mid-rib, more so than this blade. Both republican and imperial pugio handles were metal, sandwiching an organic layer of bone, horn or possibly wood either side of a flat tang and riveted to the blade and tang, although later pugios had rod-tangs, which could have wooden replacement handles fitted if the original metal handle was damaged. Metal handles usually had a central bulbous swelling with a bulbous pommel during the republican period and a flat-edged pommel during the imperial period.
Ian | March 13, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The Pugio arrived in wonderful shape. Museum Replicas packs all of their orders extremely well. I ordered it sharpened and it couldn't be better, you could shave a mouse's whiskers off while he was sleeping with this dagger and not wake him up.

My only complaint isthat the throat of the scabbard could be a little tighter to secure it while carrying.
Mike | January 15, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I am very pleased with this dagger. Weight and balance as expected, handles well. I ordered this sharpened, but found that I needed to put a finer edge on the blade for my taste. Otherwise I would have rated it with five stars.
Ed | January 24, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A hefty dagger with excellent grip.
the only problem is that I may have
to buy the gladius.
Lester | June 01, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The blade is excellent! It feels good in the hand and well balanced. The workmanship of the handle was superb and no loose parts. My only real complaint would be the scabbard is way too loose. The design of the scabbard is great, but it needs to hold the blade solidly!
Donald | July 26, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Pigio
Very nice blade
William | January 22, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Roman Puglio
Just right in every way, and not too dangerously sharp in this case.
Warren | January 29, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Roman Pugio
A superb blade, I ordered it with an engraving and sharpening service and it was perfect. No defects in the blade or scabbard. A great purchase for anyone who is interested in the Romans or just needs a small blade.
Ian | June 19, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)