(0)
 

Product reviews for Gladius - Maintz Pattern

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
At last, a sword I can fall on! ..
I love my new glad'! I am keeping it safe until I learn to use it properly. However, I believe it would benefit from replacing the (plastic) pommel-bulb with a piece of heavy/hard wood, for balance. That, or a weight pressed onto the tang tip. [Add 1/2 star]
phil | February 04, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Gladius
excellent blade
William | January 22, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Gladius
This Mainz Gladius is my 5th sword I’ve bought from MR. Once again, I’m very happy with my purchase. Sword was received in perfect condition with a very sharp edge. Very authentic detailing, fine balance and great looking. Give it 5 stars and recommend to anyone interested in the classic Roman sword.
Steven | December 29, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Mainz Gladius
This is my third sword I’ve bought from MR and once again very happy with the quality of my purchase. Gladius looks great with my other swords in my display. Look forward to my next purchase.
Steven | December 23, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A beutiful piece of work!
Just received this sword and scabbard.  Both are amazing works of art!  No flaws, extremely sharp, and looks like it is ready to go on campaign anywhere in the empire.  I would recommend this to anyone looking to add a Roman piece to their collection.
Ray | November 09, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
It looks great with my Roman outfit.
The Gladius - Maintz Pattern sword looks amazing. I had them sharpen it for me. It is razor sharp now. The only thing about it I'm 100% happy with is the handle. It is a bit thin. But other than that, the sword it wonderful.
Roberto | August 19, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
- MRL Team
This  Maintz Pattern Gladius was created to be as historically accurate as possible, based on actual swords from that era.
12 year fallow up.
This is one of my favorite short swords! From the camel bone grip, to the light and elegant blade!

Checkout my video of it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3vw5G0wtmvE
Stuart | April 28, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The sword itself is beautiful and perfectly weighted.  The only problem is the handle.  The "faux ivory grip" looks like plastic piping from someone's bathroom.  I would have returned it for the simpler model (without the "faux ivory") but since I had it sharpened that was not an option.
kevin | January 30, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
All in all, this is a beautiful piece that is solid and well-crafted.  But I have given it only three stars due to a glaring tragic flaw: the faux ivory grip is terrible!  Very tacky (like cheap plastic) that destroys the beauty of an otherwise satisfactory sword.  Furthermore, I'm concerned that over time it will become brittle and crack (in mid-swing?), given the blade's own hefty weight.  Indeed, I would return it in favor of the Pompeii, which has a solid wood grip, but I ordered it sharpened so that's that, apparently.  Disappointing.
Mike | June 20, 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Beautiful piece of craftsmanship.  I am a scholar and teacher of Roman history and I use it in lectures as an audio visual aid and my students are constantly impressed with it.  A real piece of history!
Matthew | December 25, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I love, love this sword.  I have wanted a sword from Museum Replicas ever since I was a kid so this fulfills a childhood dream.  The craftsmanship is excellent, the sword itself is beautiful and it exudes a sense of deadliness that is hard to describe.
Five stars.
David | May 19, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Magnificent sword! Very well-made, outstanding steel quality.

Windlass' costumer support is also flawless. I would like to extend specially high regards to Mr. Praadep,  who was very kind and supportive.

Pedro | January 12, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The faux ivory hilt is very beautiful to look at.  The numerous ridges on the hilt make for a very tight and secure hold.  Well-balanced and nice sword
Jeffrey | November 19, 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)