(0)
 

Product reviews for Falchion Sword

Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
fun with sharp and shiny
very well made and the sharpening service is worth the money
tim | June 19, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Falchions Rule!
I like this falchion a lot it handles good enough for me and cuts nice. But only 4 stars because the original falchion was 3 inches longer then this replica which I have seen in a Osprey book.
michael | April 09, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Finally have it!
I had wanted this Falchion for many years and when I finally got it I was not dissapointed. All the parts are well made and well put together. The thick pommel balances out the blade well. Love the feel of this sword!
Dan | January 22, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Museum Replicas NEVER Disappoints
I purchased this blade as a gift for friends,  and as always, I wasn't disappointed in the fit and finish.  Everything mates up tightly, and  it looks fantastic!
Richard | December 21, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Falchion...NO mere machete
I just received my Falchion from MRL, when it went on DoD I had to grab it, despite some reviews calling it a battle machete or poorly balanced ( which seems to be a misconception of the historical Falchion)  I was surprised to hold a wonderful weapon.  The PoB is about 4 and a half from hilt, good for a slicer but handles well in the recovery and is not the "medieval machete " many reviews called it.  It is a slicing sword, and is balanced as such.  The nice heavy pommel aids in recovery as well.  Very nice piece, would definately recommed.
Brian | March 30, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
falchion sword
got this on the deal of the day,the weight is 2.7
ray | December 28, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Lovely sword....truly a beast. As others have said it is an ax in sword form...very blade heavy...study. I opted for the sharpening service and they went above and beyond...almost lost a finger while opening the product...deadly sharp...very nice addition to my collection and as always service is above par...these guys are great!
John | June 17, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
While it's not very historically accurate it does seem fairly well made.  I think a little more thought would have made a big difference with this one.
James | May 19, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Love it!  Exactly as expected with fast shipping and great packing.  The blade feels strong and balace proper for the time and use.  Not the 'deal of the day', this was the 'steal of the day'!
michael | December 23, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Shipping was fast and the sword was very well packaged.

I decided to purchase this Falchion after reading many favorable reviews about it on line. I have over the years purchased several items manufactured by Windlass Steelcrafts and I have never been disappointed by any of them.  I found that it replicates a sword known as The Thorpe Falchion that is in a museum in the United Kingdom.

Its an excellent sword as manufactured,and would be fine if left as is. But one of the online reviews that I read showed the sword after the reviewer had wrapped the handle with 3/32" leather cord,and I decided to do the same, and in my opinion this not only improved the appearance but also gives a better feel to the grip.

The Thorpe Falchion

This replica originated in the late 13th or 14th century and was found in the Yare River near Thorpe St. Andrews, England in 1833.

Comparisons with the original prove that this re-creation is almost identical to its historical prototype when it comes to dimensions and balance.
William | June 16, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is one of eight swords I have purchased from Museum Replicas. I have been incredibly pleased with all but this one. Unfortunately a defect in the tang has caused mine to warp after very light test cutting. The point of mine is more than 3 inches out of alignment with the pommel. If not for this I would have to give this sword five stars.
James | March 27, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Decent sword for the price.  However, even though a falchion is supposed to be front heavy, this sword just doesn't feel right. Made sturdy but handling of the blade is not up to par with other Windlass offerings.  I got this sword on the Deal of day and I would definitely purchase again at that price.  There are however better Windlass offerings that are 5 star.  Such as the "european sword."  If you're buying for looks and sturdiness than this blade will please.  
Raffaele | December 24, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is the fourth sword that I have purchased from MRL. I guess that you can't win 'em all. The sword is well built and sharp as hell, but the balance is far too blade heavy. Although it weighs less than three pounds (my scale shows 2 pounds, 14ounces) it feels much heavier. I got this sword as a Deal of the Day, so it's not as if I didn't get more than my money's worth, and it's fine steel so this sword will likely find a place in the shed and I'll let that blade heavy steel cut a path through branches and brush. It's sure solid and sharp enough!
| December 19, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Just what I expected, well made and well sharpened...

Randy | December 18, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Another very nice sword. Although I would say its a bit heavy.
Matthew | November 14, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Exactly as described exactly what I expected.  Overall balance and feel of the sword is excellent for me.
Brian | May 29, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Absolutely beautiful weapon. It really comes alive in the hand. Despite the weight, which is on the high end of a 1-handed sword, the balance is fine and it doesn't feel heavy. Highly functional design, very sturdy, and very well made.
Charles | December 22, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
S | May 01, 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I swung it at a plastic 2-liter soda bottle.  Result?  Broke at the tang.  On the bright side, MRL agreed to send me a new one; it looks like I got a fluke in the heat treat.
Johnathan | March 07, 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
We regret the problem Johnathan had with this sword; we stand behind our products 100%. This appears to be the result of an issue during the heat treatment process at the factory.  Somehow this piece fell through the cracks of quality control.  Please be assured we will resolve the situation to Johnathans utmost satisfaction.
Museum Replicas Team | January 28, 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A great sword.  I baught mine a few years back and i only have a few user induceced scratches.  My complaints would be it is a tad blade heavy, the handle is a tad small for bigger people and the sheath is bad... Also the sheathing process has caused scratches on my guard.  Other than that the sword is a great bang for your buck.
Charles | September 04, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Not a bad sword for the price. My scabard was tarnished. The blade was excellant, the grip was ok, but I was not impressed with the scabard.
Harold | September 25, 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
elias | August 02, 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A 32" blade with a hand-and-a-half grip would be perfection! I guess I'll be forced to make one (that still weighs about 3 lbs!), or possibly with a 1/4" spine and a full tang with an integral pommel mount.
B L | July 17, 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I couldn't be more satisfied with this sword. It's a great sword to showcase some of the more exotic looking weaponry of Europe.
Nicholas | April 10, 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)