(0)
 
Write your own review
  • Only registered users can write reviews
*
*
  • Bad
  • Excellent
Existing reviews
Wonderful Sword!
This sword is beautiful. Mine is very well put together and has an excellent peen. The balance and over all feel are great. If you are on the fence with this one...get off.
Dan | July 29, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Viking Sword
Great Viking Sword
This is the second Viking sword I’ve bought from MR and again I am very satisfied with the product. Detail of both the sword and scabbard are amazing. Love the balance when I hold this sword. Sword came well packaged and sharpened as always. Thanks MR
Steven | July 22, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Superior
Very nicely rendered.  Great balance.  And compares nicely to the original which I have seen on display!
Mike | July 20, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
EXCELLENT blade!
Just got this today, surprisingly fast considering I had special treatment (sharpening) done. Blade very regular w/ straight edges (sometimes Windlass has failed in this, but not today). Typical razor's-edge sharpening work - ALWAYS pay to do that! Worth every nickel. Sturdily made, and though on the heavier side very well balanced. Flexes within the limits of the blade width and returns to true. The brazil-nut pommel makes for a MUCH more pleasant grip
Gordon | June 13, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Like My Viking ULFBERHT
Excellent solid sword.  Great Windlass quality.  I have many other swords in my collection, many Windlass.  Ulfberht is etched deep.  I believe the originals were inlayed but I wouldn't be able to afford one built like that. Steel is polished to mirror finish.  Leather wrap on handle is good.  Pommel and handle secured by hammering over end of tang.  Nice and tight. Blade rings when struck on side showing good temper.  Balance seems good to me.  Blade was sharp.  Good addition to my collection.
James | February 23, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Remarkable Sword
This is an excellent example of its type.  I have owned the sticklestad,  leuterit, and several other makes from this company and others.

Ulfberht is the one I've kept,  it handles the best for me. There is plenty of room in the grip while staying historically accurate.

The inscription is correct,  and sets it off while displayed on the wall. But hard use is where this sword shines. It is a great cutter with its spatulate tip,  mrl did a fantastic sharpening service.

This has held up well to the wooden pell, the tire pell, countless bottles,  and tatami.  In the shield wall,  it would be a limb claimer!  

Really well done,  outstanding value. I highly recommend this if you're in the market for a battle ready Viking sword.
Jonathan | January 10, 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Viking Sword Purchase
I did a lot of research before buying this blade . The blade turned out to be just as good as I read . High quality , well made . For the price one could do no better . I am extremely satisfied with this purchase .
RICHARD | December 30, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
A damn fine blade.
The only improvement I could think of would be to use less oil, or wrap it in a way that kept the oil only on the blade.
Adam | December 21, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Great Sword.
I have always been interested in Viking history and their equipment.  This must be the most iconic sword when talking about the Vikings.  I had to have it.  This sword feels solid but also lighter than I expected.  Quick to swing and recover.  The inlaid lettering is really nicely done.  Overall, it's a great sword.
Kenneth | November 01, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Nice sword
Great sword. looks and feels great. Very satisfied!
Gilbert | October 08, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
great sword for the price
I picked one of these up recently as the deal of the day at a very reasonable price. I was looking for something close to a 11th century Norman sword due to having ancestors that moved to England from France in 1066.

The lettering although true to a type 2 Vulfbehrt seems a bit cheap, like paint in etching, but true in spelling to high carbon steel swords of the time.

The scabbard holds the blade well but every time i use it the blade is drawn having what looks like sawdust on it.

Typical Windlass issues, but for around $200 you really can't expect a top name brand that uses C and C methods and it is something I would use with no hesitation.
Philip | May 18, 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I have quite a few swords, Albion, Del Tin, Valiant Armory, DSA and more but this is my go to sword for cutting and overall feel.  It feels perfectly balanced in my hand and is very comfortable, the pommel never causing issues with my hand or wrist.  I have beat this thing and it has never loosened and the edge has never chipped or rolled.  It has a good temper and flexes but does not take a set.  Other reviewers have said this isn't historically accurate but it is.  I have found a picture of an archaeological example that is almost identical, the spelling, shape and overall structure. For the money this is one of the best sword values around.  Yes, you could nit pick the details as you can with any Windlass, but functionally it is perfect.
Michael | May 18, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Sword is awesome,very happy with everything.sharp sword is very sharp,again very happy
Scott | May 14, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I'm very happy with the Windlass Ulfberht sword. Another A+ for the team at MRL.
Christopher | September 19, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I'd been wanting this sword for a long time, and finally sprang for it. The quality, fit and finish are a steal for the money. I had mine sharpened, and it is a wicked piece of work. The scabbard is sturdy and attractive. The grip is comfortable and does not slip. The pommel is nicely peened and polished, and helps to provide a secure grasp. The cross guard is my only complaint- the channel where the blade passes through could be much smaller. The blade itself is beautifully polished, and holds a razor edge. The weapon is solid and sturdy, with a nice heft to it and a good balance.
John | August 10, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I love it! It is everything I hoped for.
Ty | January 28, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Unique taper and shape at the tip of the blade.  Rounded, rather than straight up pointy.  The etching on the blade is nicely done and dark.  This is not too heavy or poorly balanced, so its easy for me to use one-handed without discomfort.  The leather wrapped grip is firm, and feels good in the hand; its not slippery at all.  Very happy with this sword, highly recommended.  
Jeffrey | January 28, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very nice, just a little less on fit and finish but beautiful and the sharpening service was great.
Ken | January 28, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I received my sword yesterday, and I am happy with my sword! It feels wonderful in my hands and looks it too. I think she is a very accurate sword of that era.
Michael | January 08, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
The sword was a gift for my adult son. He said, "Best.Gift.EVER."
Linda | December 28, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
Very solid weapon. The counter weight could be a little heavier to balance the blade.
Steven | September 27, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I just received it today fast shipping, I'm very happy .
Larry | August 14, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
It's a slight bit on the heavy side and the crossguard is a bit chunky, but overall I really like this sword. It feels really good in the hand and I like the balance. Where it is having problems is the "+ulfberht+" etching. After just a couple of weeks the part of the etching by the crossguard is starting to rub off from the scabbard. Otherwise, this would easily be a 4-star sword. I will avoid using the scabbard in the future.

The people kvetching about the spelling of "+ulfberht+" are getting bad info from an otherwise pretty good TV documentary. The important feature was the quality of the steel, not the spelling that the illiterate smith used. There are multiple spelling variations and reverse marks for "true" ulfberht swords. The oldest existing genuine example we have is misspelled "+ulfbeht+". For the price, this sword is a good replica of the original, judging by the photos from the Pierce book.
Andrew | May 30, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
If you are hoping for this sword to be 100% historically correct then you will be disappointed but if you hoping for this sword to be well made, then you are in for a treat. The balance is great. The grip, guard and pommel are well put together. As far as the quality of the sword goes, this is a great sword. If you aren't picky about historical accuracy, then this is the sword you will want in your collection. Great sword.
David | February 07, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
I just received this sword. as usual it is very well made and well balanced. Thank you

KJK US Army Colonel (Ret)
LTC Kenyon | December 31, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
This is a fine quality sword, nice looking and very pratical. I would not hesitate to buy again. I tested it against tree limbs, mats, and brush. It held up perfectly and held a fine edge.
Ronnie | December 22, 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)
One drawback I can see to an otherwise great sword is that the +ULFBERHT+ spelling of the inlay on historical blades has been found to correlate with lower quality steel blades than the true high carbon, low impurity steel of the blades of real Ulfberhts, which have all been marked +ULFBERH+T. It's hypothesized they were forgeries of lower quality trying to pass themselves off as the top of the line blades, in the same way as many modern knockoffs misspell the brand name.
Nathanael | December 05, 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes No (0/0)